for EPA, HEPA and ULPA Filters : ISO 29463 - New test standard for HEPA Filters

The new standard has its roots in EN 1822, and defines 13 different filter classes ranging from ISO 15 E to ISO 75 U.

ISO 29463

There are many standards for HEPA filters. Intended to provide clarity in this maze of standards, ISO 29463 is derived from EN 1822, which defines the EPA, HEPA and ULPA filter classes commonly found in industrial use.

ISO 29463 maintains the filter designations EPA, HEPA and ULPA while replacing filter classes E10-E12, H13-H14 and U15-U17 with the following 13 filter classes:
Designation Filter Groups
according ISO 29463
EPA Filter (efficient particulate air filter) ISO 15 E - ISO 30 E
HEPA Filter (high efficiency particulate air filter) ISO 35 H - ISO 45 H
ULPA Filter (ultra low penetration air filter) ISO 50 U - ISO 75 U

The new ISO 29463 does not replace the EN 1822 standard. EN 1822 will continue to be valid!

European Standard EN 1822

Flag of Europe

In 1998 EN 1822 came into effect. This was the first standard, which established a filter classification system for HEPA filters based on filtration process theory. EN 1822 also introduced the evaluation criterion MPPS (Most Penetrating Particle Size). MPPS is the particle size at which the air filter has its lowest arrestance. Not just a whim of nature, MPPS relates directly to physical mechanisms in the filtration process.

The U.S. takes a different approach for filter classification of HEPA filters. The mother of all test procedures for these filters in the U.S. is MIL-STD-282, which was introduced in 1956. Other test procedures include e.g. IEST-RP-CC001 and IEST-RP-CC007. Each test procedure specifies certain particle sizes at which efficiency is evaluated. Depending on the filter class evaluated, this is done at 0.3 µm, 0.1 - 0.2 µm or 0.2 - 0.3 µm.

U.S. Standard MIL-STD-282

US flag

ISO 29463

ISO 29463 & EN 1822

In October 2011, the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) published ISO 29463 Parts 1-5 with the goal of accelerating harmonization of various filter standards used in the United States and Europe. Up to that time, ISO 29463 had coexisted in parallel with EN 1822 and the U.S. test procedures.

At the European level, however, EN 1822-1 "Classification, performance testing, marking" will continue to exist in a revised version. The revised standard will make reference to parts 2-5 of ISO 29463. Put in simple terms, EN 1822 will have its own classification system (Part 1) for air filters but will test them according to ISO 29463 Parts 2-5. However, there will still be one difference between the leakage test methods specified in the two standards. While ISO 29463:2017 Part 1 specifies five methods, EN 1822 Part 1 has only three.

ISO 29463 Part 1:
in accordance with filter design
EN 1822 Part 1
in accordance with filter design
Scan leak test Scan leak test
Oil thread leak test Oil thread leak test
Efficiency leak test
for 0.3 µm to 0.5 µm
Efficiency leak test
for 0.3 µm to 0.5 µm
Aerosol photometer leak test
PSL leak test

The requirements of EN 1822 Part 1 for leak testing of air particulate filters are stricter than those of ISO 29463. EN 1822 explicitly excludes the use of aerosol photometers. With regard to permissibility of PSL leak testing, the standard is not as clear. Part 1, Paragraph 7.3 states: "Possible aerosol substances include but are not limited to DEHS, PAO and PSL". This reference, apparently permitting use of PSL testing, is however of limited relevance to actual practice. Test procedures using PSL are very cost-intensive and therefore only rarely used.

EN 1822 vs. ISO 29463

As noted above, ISO 29463 maintains the EPA, HEPA und ULPA filter classes as specified in EN 1822. Evaluation in the new ISO standard is also based on particle arrestance at MPPS (Most Penetrating Particle Size). MPPS is the particle size at which an air filter shows minimum arrestance.

However, there is one difference in particulate filter classification between the two standards. EN 1822 classifies a particulate filter with an arrestance of e.g. 99.9993 % at its MPPS as HEPA filter class H14. When evaluated according to ISO 29463, however, this same air filter is classified as ULPA filter class ISO 50U. As a ULPA filter under ISO 29463, it is subjected to other leakage test procedures than is the case under EN 1822.

Furthermore the ISO 29463 starts with the filter group ISO 15E, which is equivalent to the filter class E11 according EN 1822. Consequently does not cover a counterpart to the EPA filter class E10. In contrast shows the test standard ISO 16890 with the filter group ISO ePM1 >95% an equivalent to the filter class E10.

Here is a compararison between the filter classes defined in ISO 29463 and EN 1822:

Overall Value Local Value
Filter Classes

according EN 1822

Filter Groups

according ISO 29463

Efficiency Penetration Efficiency Penetration
E10 - ≥ 85% ≤ 15% - -
E11 ISO 15 E ≥ 95% ≤ 5 % - -
ISO 20 E ≥ 99% ≤ 1% - -
E12 ISO 25 E ≥ 99.5% ≤ 0.5% - -
ISO 30 E ≥ 99.90% ≤ 0.1% - -
H13 ISO 35 H ≥ 99.95% ≤ 0.05% ≥ 99.75% ≤ 0.25%
ISO 40 H ≥ 99.99% ≤ 0.01% ≥ 99.95% ≤ 0.05%
H14 ISO 45 H ≥ 99.995% ≤ 0.005% ≥ 99.975% ≤ 0.025%
ISO 50 U ≥ 99.999% ≤ 0.001% ≥ 99.995% ≤ 0.005%
U15 ISO 55 U ≥ 99.9995% ≤ 0.0005% ≥99.9975% ≤ 0.0025%
ISO 60 U ≥ 99.9999 % ≤ 0.0001% ≥ 99.9995%
≤ 0.0005%
U16 ISO 65 U ≥ 99.99995% ≤ 0.00005% ≥ 99.99975% ≤ 0.00025%
ISO 70 U ≥ 99.99999% ≤ 0.00001% ≥ 99.9999% ≤ 0.0001%
U17 ISO 75 U ≥ 99.999995% ≤ 0.000005% ≥ 99.9999% ≤ 0.0001%
Compare

für EPA, HEPA und ULPA Filter : ISO 29463 - Neue Norm für Schwebstofffilter

Die neue Norm basiert auf der aktuellen EN 1822 und umfasst 13 Filterklassen von ISO 15 E bis ISO 75 U.

Für Schwebstofffilter gibt es viele Normen. Die neue ISO 29463 soll für Klarheit im Normendschungel sorgen und basiert auf dem Filterstandard EN 1822, welcher die bekannten EPA-, HEPA und ULPA-Filterklassenklassen umfasst.

Die Bezeichnungen EPA-, HEPA und ULPA-Filter werden beibehalten, allerdings existieren nicht mehr die Filterklassen E10-E12, H13-H14 und U15-U17, sondern es erfolgt die Klassifizierung in die folgenden 13 Filterklassen.

Bezeichnung Filtergruppen
gemäß ISO 29463
EPA Filter (efficient particulate air filter) ISO 15 E - ISO 30 E
HEPA Filter (high efficiency particulate air filter) ISO 35 H - ISO 45 H
ULPA Filter (ultra low penetration air filter) ISO 50 U - ISO 75 U

Die neue ISO 29463 wird allerdings nicht die EN 1822 ersetzen! Die EN 1822 ist weiterhin gültig!

Die Europäische Norm EN 1822

Im Jahre 1998 trat der Filterstandard EN 1822 in Kraft. Dies ist die erste Europäische Norm, welche theoretische Filtrationskenntnisse in ein Klassifizierungssystem für Schwebstofffilter überführte. Mit der EN 1822 wurde auch das Bewertungskriteriums am MPPS (Most Penetrating Particle Size) eingeführt. Der MPPS stellt die Partikelgröße dar, bei welcher ein Luftfilter seinen niedrigsten Abscheidegrad verzeichnet. Diese Tatsache ist keine Laune der Natur, sondern beruht auf den physikalischen Prinzipien der Filtrationseffekte.

Die Vereinigten Staaten verfolgen einen anderen Bewertungsansatz für die Klassifizierung von Schwebstofffiltern. Die Mutter aller Tests für Schwebstofffilter ist in den USA der MIL-STD-282 aus dem Jahre 1956. Weitere Prüfverfahren sind zum Beispiel die Vorschriften IEST-RP-CC001 und IEST-RP-CC007. Je nach Prüfprozedur wird die Effizienz bei bestimmten Partikelgrößen bewertet. Dies erfolgt je nach Filterklasse bei 0,3 µm, 0,1 - 0,2 µm bzw. 0,2 - 0,3 µm.

Der MIL-STD-282 aus den USA

ISO 29463

Im Oktober 2011 hat die International Organization for Standardization (ISO) den Standard ISO 29463 Teil 1-5 veröffentlicht, um die Harmonisierung der unterschiedlichen Normen aus den Vereinigten Staaten und Europa zu forcieren. Bisher lief die ISO 29463 parallel neben den bisherigen Standards EN 1822 und den Prüfverfahren der USA.

Auf europäischer Ebene bleibt die EN 1822-1 „Klassifikation, Leistungsprüfung, Kennzeichnung“ in einer überarbeiteten Version allerdings weiter bestehen. Sie verweist aber künftig auf die Teile 2-5 der ISO 29463. Vereinfacht bedeutet dies, dass Luftfilter gemäß EN 1822 Teil 1 klassifiziert werden, aber gemäß ISO 29463 Teil 2-5 geprüft werden. Während aber die ISO 29463:2017 in Teil 1 fünf mögliche Arten der Leckageprüfung angibt, lässt die EN 1822 gemäß Teil 1 nur drei Verfahren zu.

Prüfverfahren gemäß ISO 29463 Teil 1
- in Abhängigkeit zum Bautyp
Prüfverfahren gemäß EN 1822 Teil 1
- in Abhängigkeit zum Bautyp
Scanverfahren Scanverfahren
Ölfadentest Ölfadentest
Abscheidegrad-Leckageprüfung
für 0,3 µm bis 0,5 µm
Abscheidegrad-Leckageprüfung
für 0,3 µm bis 0,5 µm
Aerosol-Photometer
PSL-Leckagetest

Die Anforderungen einer Leckageprüfung von Schwebstofffiltern ist gemäß EN 1822 Teil 1 strenger als gemäß ISO 29463. Die EN 1822 schließt die Prüfung mittels Aerosol-Photometers explizit aus. Unschlüssig ist dagegen, ob die Prüfung mit einem PSL-Leckagetest möglich ist. In Teil 1, Abs. 7.3 heißt es zumindest: „Mögliche Aerosolsubstanzen sind unter anderem DEHS, PAO und PSL.“ Gemäß diesem Absatz scheint die Möglichkeit für einen PSL-Leckagetest gegeben, allerdings wird dieser kostspielige Test in der Praxis kaum eingesetzt.

EN 1822 vs. ISO 29463

Die bekannte Klassifizierung in EPA, HEPA und ULPA-Filterklassen gemäß EN 1822 bleibt auch bei der ISO 29463 erhalten. Ebenso erfolgt die Bewertung bei der neuen ISO-Norm anhand der Partikelabscheidung am MPPS (Most Penetrating Particle Size). Beim MPPS handelt es sich um die Partikelgröße, bei welcher ein Luftfilter die geringste Abscheideleistung aufzeigt.

In einem Punkt unterscheidet sich aber die Einteilung der Schwebstofffilter bei den beiden Normen. Beispielsweiseein Schwebstofffilter mit einem Abscheidegrad von 99,9993 % beim MPPS, wird gemäß EN 1822 mit der HEPA-Filterklasse H14 klassifiziert. Gemäß ISO 29463 erzielt dieser Luftfilter aber die ULPA-Filterklasse ISO 50U. Da es sich nunmehr um einen ULPA-Filter handelt, hat dies Konsequenzen für die durchzuführenden Leckageprüfung.

Ein Vergleich zwischen den Filterklassen gemäß ISO 29463 und EN 1822 sieht wie folgt aus:

Integralwert Lokalwert
Filterklassen

gemäß EN 1822

Filtergruppen

gemäß ISO 29463

Fraktionsabscheidegrad

im MPPS

Max. lokaler

Durchlassgrad

Fraktionsabscheidegrad

im MPPS

Max.

lokaler Durchlassgrad

E10 - ≥ 85% ≤ 15% - -
E11 ISO 15 E ≥ 95% ≤ 5 % - -
ISO 20 E ≥ 99% ≤ 1% - -
E12 ISO 25 E ≥ 99,5% ≤ 0,5% - -
ISO 30 E ≥ 99,90% ≤ 0,1% - -
H13 ISO 35 H ≥ 99,95% ≤ 0,05% ≥ 99,75% ≤ 0,25%
ISO 40 H ≥ 99,99% ≤ 0,01% ≥ 99,95% ≤ 0,05%
H14 ISO 45 H ≥ 99,995% ≤ 0,005% ≥ 99,975% ≤ 0,025%
ISO 50 U ≥ 99,999% ≤ 0,001% ≥ 99,995% ≤ 0,005%
U15 ISO 55 U ≥ 99,999 5% ≤ 0,000 5% ≥99,997 5% ≤ 0,002 5%
ISO 60 U ≥ 99,999 9 % ≤ 0,000 1% ≥ 99,999 5%
≤ 0,000 5%
U16 ISO 65 U ≥ 99,999 95% ≤ 0,000 05% ≥ 99,999 75% ≤ 0,000 25%
ISO 70 U ≥ 99,999 99% ≤ 0,000 01% ≥ 99,999 9% ≤ 0,000 1%
U17 ISO 75 U ≥ 99,999 995% ≤ 0,000 005% ≥ 99,999 9% ≤ 0,000 1%
Vergleichen