Two Different Test Dusts: AC Fine vs. ISO Fine

L2 dust goes by a variety of names. In ISO 12103-1 it is called A2 Fine Test Dust or sometimes "ISO Fine"– different names for the same dust! This dust is also specified in other standards including ISO 29461-1:2013 and ISO 16890:2016.

AC Fine and SAE fine are two designations for another type of test dust widely used in filter testing. AC Fine was introduced in the United States in the 1940s as a test dust for air cleaners. The Society of Automotive Engineers later adopted it as a test dust for air cleaners in their SAE J726 specification. However, the processes used to manufacture and characterize this test dust have undergone changes over the years.

Strictly speaking, AC Fine test dust and ISO Fine test dust do differ somewhat in their particle size distribution. This is something you should keep in mind when hearing the terms AC Fine or SAE Fine used colloquially as synonyms for ISO Fine, A2 or L2.

Compare

Teststaub AC Fine und ISO Fine

Der Prüfstaub L2 trägt viele Namen. Gemäß ISO 12103-1 wird er auch A2 Feinprüfstaub oder aber ISO Fine genannt – alles dasselbe! Man findet ihn unter anderem in Prüfvorschriften wie der ISO 29461-1:2013 oder aber der aktuellen ISO 16890:2016.

Außerdem gibt es die Staubtypen AC Fine oder SAE fine. AC Fine wurde in den 1940er Jahren in den USA als Prüfstaub für Air Cleaner eingeführt. Die Society of Automotive Engineers hat ihn später unter der Spezifikation SAE J726 als Prüfstaub für Air Cleaner übernommen. Allerdings haben sich technologisch sowohl die Verfahren zur Herstellung, wie auch zur Charakterisierung des Prüfstaubes über die Zeit verändert.

Streng genommen entspricht die Korngrößenverteilung von AC Fine nicht 1:1 der Verteilung von ISO Fine. Dies sollten Sie im Auge behalten, auch wenn heute noch umgangssprachlich die Begrifflichkeiten AC Fine oder SAE Fine als Synonym für ISO Fine, A2 oder L2 Verwendung finden.

Vergleichen